Congressional Letter for Neutrality in 2014 Salvadoran Elections

On Monday December 16, Reps. Juan Vargas (D-CA), Mike Honda (D-CA) and Mark Pocan (D-WI)  sent a letter to Sec. of State John Kerry - signed by 51 Members of Congress - calling for a public statement of neutrality by the State Department before the first round of El Salvador's presidential elections on February 2, 2014.

Read the full letter to Sec. Kerry here in English (with signatures) and here in Spanish (no signatures).

Read press statements regarding this Congressional letter by Rep. Vargas and CISPES .

Congressional Signers:

  1. Rep. Juan Vargas (D-CA) - sponsor
  2. Rep. Mike Honda (D-CA) - sponsor
  3. Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI) - sponsor
  4. Rep. Sam Farr (D-CA)
  5. Rep. Gloria Negrete MacLeod (D-CA)
  6. Rep. Brad Sherman (D-CA)
  7. Rep. Raúl Grijalva (D-AZ)
  8. Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA)
  9. Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)
  10. Rep. Jim Moran (D-VA)
  11. Rep. Jim McDermott (D-WA)
  12. Rep. Stephen Lynch (D-MA)
  13. Rep. Nydia Velasquez (D-NY)
  14. Rep. George Miller (D-CA)
  15. Rep. Tony Cárdenas (D-CA)
  16. Rep. Joseph Crowley (D-NY)
  17. Rep. Luis Gutiérrez (D-IL)
  18. Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
  19. Rep. José Serrano (D-NY)
  20. Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
  21. Rep.  Hank Johnson (D-GA)
  22. Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY)
  23. Rep. Mike Michaud (D-ME)
  24. Rep. Linda Sánchez (D-CA)
  25. Rep. Mike Capuano (D-MA)
  26. Rep. John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI)
  27. Rep. Charles Rangel (D-NY)
  28. Rep. Peter Welch (D-VT)
  29. Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)
  30. Rep. Jared Huffman (D-CA)
  31. Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
  32. Rep. Jared Polis (D-CO)
  33. Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY)
  34. Rep. Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
  35. Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA)
  36. Rep. Chellie Pingree (D-ME)
  37. Rep. Richard Neal (D-MA)
  38. Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY)
  39. Rep. John Tierney (D-MA)
  40. Rep. Danny Davis (D-IL)
  41. Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA)
  42. Rep. Donna Edwards (D-MD)
  43. Rep. Bobby Rush (D-IL)
  44. Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA)
  45. Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-CA)
  46. Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-CA)
  47. Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR)
  48. Rep. Judy Chu (D-CA)
  49. Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)
  50. Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)
  51. Rep. Carol Shea Porter (D-NH)

Similar Entries

Meet some of the sustainers who power our work!

"I am a CISPES supporter because continuing to fight for social justice and a more people-centered country means continuing the dream and sacrifice of thousands of my fellow Salvadorans who died for that vision.” - Padre Carlos, New York City

Join Padre Carlos by becoming a sustaining donor to CISPES today!

Recent Posts

Protesters hold a banner that reads "STOP THE DICTATORSHIP! No Reelection!"

Protesters from an organization of people injured during the Civil War hold a banner that reads "Stop the Dictatorship! No Reelection!" on September 15, 2023.

A mother holds a sign that says, in Spanish "I demand my son's release. He is an innocent victim of the regime. He suffers from generalized anxiety disorder."

A mother's sign that says, "I demand freedom for my son. He is an innocent victim of the regime. He suffers from generalized anxiety disorder."

In an open letter to the Supreme Electoral Tribunal, a coalition of Salvadoran popular social movement groups lay out the illegality of Bukele's consecutive reelection bid